Introduction to the Johannes Linneborn Prize and the 2024 winner Laudatio

David Chiaramonti Chairman of the Nomination Committee

The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 on behalf of the European Commission by Dr. Wolfgang Palz to honor an European individual for an exceptional life-time contribution to the field of sustainable energy from biomass. In exceptional cases the award can be granted to a non-European. It is not a reward for scientific excellence only but also technical and managerial merits are appreciated. This prestigious award was connected to the name of Johannes Linneborn, a German biomass pioneer and businessman and the manufacturer of more than 500,000 Imbert small-scale wood gasifiers used to fuel cars, when fossil liquid fuels were scarce. His ideal was a world in which mankind lives in harmony with nature with optimal exploiting of biomass for energy and materials. From a long list of excellent candidates the Prize Committee selected as winner of the Linneborn Prize 2024:

Prof. Solange Mussatto

Professor in Biobased Technologies and Sustainability Group Leader, Biomass Conversion and Bioprocess Technology Technical University of Denmark