

The Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 32nd European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, 24 – 27 June 2024 in Marseille. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport, and agriculture.

The 2024 Prize Winner is

Professor Solange I. Mussatto

Professor in Biobased Technologies and Sustainability
Group Leader, Biomass Conversion and Bioprocess Technology
Technical University of Denmark

Solange has over 25 years of research and project management experience in the area of biomass conversion. Her work consists in using chemical engineering and biotechnology tools to create innovative solutions that can accelerate the development of a bio-economy with potential environmental, economic, and social benefits. She has been the coordinator of several research consortia and bilateral projects with industries and has shown excellence in the implementation of new technologies for efficient conversion of biomass to different products including biofuels, chemicals and food ingredients.

The importance of her research is highlighted in more than 150 full papers published in high quality peer-reviewed journals, patents, several books and chapters, and many international awards. She has also been involved in many international research advisory panels and has given more than 50 plenary, keynote, and invited lectures at international conferences and universities around the world. Since 2017, she is involved in the IEA Bioenergy Task 42 on Biorefineries as country representative in Denmark. She shows dedication to promoting international cooperation in advancing biorefinery technologies.

Guillaume Boissonnet

Director of Research at the CEA's

Institute for Energy Economics

EUBCE 2024 Conference General Chair

Nicolae Scarlat

European Commission, JRC, Directorate for
Energy, Transport and Climate

EUBCE Technical Programme Chair

David Chiaramonti
Polytechnic of Turin
Chair Linneborn Prize Committee

Angela Grassi
EUBCE Organiser
ExCo Chair



